V Haridas

V Haridas


Ph.D.: Prof. D. Ranganathan (National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, India)
Post-doctoral studies with Prof. R. M. Ghadiri (The Scripps Research Institute, USA) and with Prof. Herbert Waldmann (Max Planck Institute, Germany).
Professor: Department of Chemistry at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (IITD), India

Group Webpage

Research Interests

Chemical biology of peptides and proteins. Biophysics of peptide/protein folding

(a) Protein engineering: We are involved in the synthesis of artificial proteins and its applications in biology.
(b) Supramolecular Chemistry: In this context, we are involved in the synthesis of molecules for various applications like receptors, various solid state properties, as catalysts and as model systems to unravel various biological phenomena.
(c) Organic Synthesis: Synthesis of molecules and their use as chemical tools to understand biological processes require very elegant organic synthetic methods. Some of our efforts are in this direction.
(d) Protein/Peptide mimicry: Our group is working on mimicking important aspects of protein structure and function. Molecules we are interested are either peptide-based or non-peptide based.

    Selected Publications

  1. Sapala, A. S., Dhawan, S., Haridas, V. Vesicles: Self-assembly beyond biological lipis, RSC Adv. 2017, 7, 26608-26624.
  2. Sapala, A. S., Dhawan, S., Haridas, V. Lipidated Psuedopeptides with Mutable Self-Assembly: Fibres to Flowers, Supramolecular Chemistry, 2017, 29, 670-679.
  3. Sharma, S., Thorat, S. H., Gonnade, R. G., Jasinski, J. P., Ray Butcher, R., Haridas, V. Engineering molecular topology: A pseudopeptidic macrocyclic figure–eight motif, Eur. J. Org. Chem., 2017, 1120-1124 (Front Cover)
  4. Haridas, V., Sadanandan, S., Dhawan, S., Mishra, R., Jain, I., Goel, G., Hu, Y., Patel, S. Synthetic minimalistic tryptophan zippers as chiroptical switch, Org. Biomol. Chem., 2017, 15. 1661-1669.


      Group Members

  • Rachit Sapra (Ph.D.)
  • Sharan Shanker Singh (Ph.D.)
  • Govind P. Maurya (Ph.D.)
  • Sameer Dhawan (Ph.D.)
  • Hanuman Singh (Ph.D.)
  • Dr. Jisha Babu (Post-doctoral fellow)
  • Ankit (M.Sc.)
  • Kavita Kumari (M.Sc.)