Pramit K Chowdhury

Pramit Chowdhury


Born Kolkata, West Bengal
Ph. D. (Prof. J. W. Petrich), Iowa State University, USA, 1999-2004
Post Doctoral Fellow (Dr. Feng Gai), University of Pennsylvania,USA, (Sep-2004 to January-2009)
Joined Indian Institute of Technology Delhi in January 2009.

Group Webpage

Research Interests

Macromolecular Crowding, Protein folding and aggregation.

Our group is focusing primarily on different aspects of macromolecular crowding and its influence on protein conformation and dynamics using a range of tools, like FRET, Solvation dynamics and fluorescence correlation spectroscopy (FCS). We have also been involved in probing the effects of polyphenols on the aggregation properties of various proteins.

research pic
(a) Correlated and anti-correlated domain movement in human serum albumin (HSA) (b) Conformational modulation of myoglobin (Mb) in presence of crowders and in the confined environment of AOT reverse micelles.

Selected Publications

  1. Gautam S., Karmakar, S., Batra, R., Sharma, P., Pradhan, P., Singh, J., Kundu, B. and Chowdhury, P. K. Polyphenols in combination with β-cyclodextrin can inhibit and disaggregate α-synuclein amyloids under cell-mimicking conditions. Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 2017, 1865, 589.
  2. Biswas, S., Mukherjee, S., K. and Chowdhury. P. K. Crowder-induced rigidity in a multidomain protein: insights from solvation. J. Phys. Chem. B, 2016, 120, 12501.
  3. . Gautam S., Karmakar, S., Bose, A. and Chowdhury. P. K. β-cyclodextrin, a potent cocktail for disaggregating and/or inhibiting amyloids: a case study with α-synuclein. Biochemistry, 2014, 53, 4081.
  4. Singh, P. and Chowdhury. P. K. Crowding-induced quenching of intrinsic tryptophans of serum albumins: a residue level investigation of different conformations. J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 2013, 4, 2610.
  5. Malik, A., Kundu, J., Mukherjee, S. K. and. Chowdhury. P. K. Myoglobin unfolding in crowding and confinement. J. Phys. Chem. B, 2012, 112, 12895.

      Group Members

  • Jayanta Kundu (PhD)
  • Sanjib Mukherjee (Ph.D.)
  • Priyanka Singh (Ph.D.)
  • Sandip Karmakar (Ph.D.)
  • Tripti Sharma (Ph.D.)
  • Harshita Rastogi (Ph.D.)
  • Amit Kumar Jana (Post Doc)
  • Firoz Mohammed Khan (Post Doc)
  • Ankit (MSc)