Shashank Deep

Shashank Deep


M.Sc., IIT Delhi
Ph.D., IIT Delhi
Post Doctoral Fellow: UTHSCSA, San Antonio, TX
Post Doctoral Fellow: UMICH, Ann Arbor
Assistant Professor: Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, Jun 06 – Mar 11
Associate Professor: Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, April 11-Aug. 18
Professor: Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, Aug. 18-present

Group Webpage

Research Interests

Our group is interested in (i) Biophysical studies of protein folding and protein aggregation.(ii) Biophysical studies of receptor interaction with ligands (iii) Methodology development for rigorous analysis of experimental data. A variety of experimental techniques like multinuclear NMR spectroscopy, fluorescence, DSC, ITC, DLS and CD are being used to carry out these studies.

research pic

    Selected Publications

  1. Katyal N., Agarwal M., Sen R., Kumar V., Deep S. (2018), "Paradoxical Effect of Trehalose on the Aggregation of a-Synuclein: Expedites Onset of Aggregation yet Reduces Fibril Load ", ACS Chem NeuroSci, 9, 1477-1491
  2. Nayeem S.M., Oteri F., Baaden M., Deep S.(2017), " Residues of Alpha Helix H3 Determine Distinctive Features of Transforming Growth Factor β3 ", J. Phys. Chem. B, 121, 5483-5498
  3. Katyal N., Deep S. (2017), Inhibition of GNNQQNY prion peptide aggregation by trehalose: a mechanistic view, Phys Chem Chem Phys, 119, 19120-19138
  4. Saha S., Deep S.(2016), " Glycerol Inhibits the Primary Pathways and Transforms the Secondary Pathway of Insulin Aggregation ", Phys Chem Chem Phys, 18, 18934-18948
  5. Bhatia N.K., Srivastava A, Katyal N., Jain N.,Khan M.A.I., Kundu B. Deep S. (2015), " Curcumin binds to the pre-fibrillar aggregates of Cu/Zn superoxide dismutase (SOD1) and alters amyloidogenic pathway resulting in reduced cytotoxicity", Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 1854, 426-436
  6. Saha S., Deep S. (2014), " Switch in the Aggregation Pathway of Bovine Serum Albumin Mediated by Electrostatic Interactions" , J. Phys. Chem. B, 118, 9155-9166


      Group Members

  • Dr. Fatima Zaidi (Post Doc.)
  • Dr. Meena Kumari (Post Doc.)
  • Amrita Dawn (Ph.D.)
  • Priya Modi (Ph.D.)
  • Nitika Patwa (Ph.D.)
  • Sonam Singh (Ph.D.)
  • Shilpa Sharma (Ph.D.)
  • Vishakha Goswami (Ph.D.)