Department of Chemistry

Home People Courses Facilities About Chemcos

Department of Chemistry
Multi-storey building
4th Floor
IIT Delhi
Hauz Khas, New Delhi 110016
Tel: +91 11 2659 1517
Fax: +91 11 2658 1102


Department of Chemistry
VI Block-343
Second Floor
IIT Delhi
Tel: +91 11 2659 6566
Fax: +91 11 2658 1102


Ph.D. Delhi
Burhani-NEERI (CSIR) Award for Outstanding and socially relevant R&D contributions in environmentally sound technologies (1998). Prof. M.N. Desai National Award for Organic Chemistry (1998). International Society for Cosmetics Dermatology (Rome, Italy). Lecturership award (1999). Active Ingredient Award (Paris). Distinguished Leadership award for excellence in Chemical Research. Fulbright Travel Award (USEFI). Regional Editor, Molecules (research journal published from Basal, Switzerland).

E-mail: hmchawla

Group Webpage
Research Interests

Biomimetic Organic Chemistry,Chemistry of Singlet Oxygen, Supramolecular chemistry, Molecular Organisation and Recognition.

C-H π interactions of a Calix[4]arene

H-bond network of the Calix[4]arene (adapted from Ref 1)
Selected Publications

1. Chawla, H. M., Pant, N., Srivastava, B., Upreti, S. Convenient direct synthesis of bisformylated calix[4]arenes via ipso substitution. Org Lett. 2006, 8, 2237.
2. Chakrabarti A., Chawla, H. M., Francis, T., Pant, N. and Upreti, S. Synthesis and cation binding properties of new arylazo- and heteroarylazotetrathiacalix[4]arenes. Tetrahedron, 2006, 62, 1150.
3. Chakrabarti A., Chawla, H. M., Geeta Hundal, G. and Pant, N. Convenient synthesis of selectively substituted tribenzo[a,d,g]cyclononatrienes. Tetrahedron, 2005, 61, 12323.
Group Members

Shubha Pandey (Ph.D.)
Jyotsna Rani Kar (Ph.D.)
Navdeep Kaur (Ph.D.)
Richa Shukla (Ph.D.)
Dr. Rajesh Kumar (Research Associate)
Dr. Raghavendran (Research Associate)

For email suffix

Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi